TEHRAN (Press Shia) – Iranian President Hassan Rouhani issued several decrees on Sunday, appointing new vice-presidents after the country’s parliamentarians gave their votes of confidence to all proposed ministers except one.

In one of the decrees, President Rouhani appointed the former minister of communications and information technology, Mahmoud Vaezi, as the president's Chief of Staff.

Rouhani also selected Mohammad Nahavandian, the president's former chief of staff, as vice-president for economic affairs.

Masoud Nili, an academic and economist, was also appointed as the president’s assistant for economic affairs.

Earlier, Sorena Sattari, who was the vice-president for science and technology affairs in Rouhani's first term, was reappointed in a decree issued by the president.

Masoumeh Ebtekar, the head of the Environmental Protection Organization in President Rouhani’s first term, was appointed as the vice-president for women and family affairs.

According to other presidential decrees, La’ya Joneidi was named vice-president for legal affairs and Shahindokht Molaverdi was named the president's assistant for civil rights.

Vice-presidents do not need parliamentary approval.

On Sunday, all of Rouhani’s picks for ministerial posts except one managed to win the vote of confidence from lawmakers.

Habibollah Bitaraf, the nominee for the post of Minister of Energy, failed to win the vote of confidence after 133 lawmakers from a total number of 288 opposed him.

Brigadier General Amir Hatami, the nominee for the post of Minister of Defense and Armed Forces Logistics managed to garner the most votes, 261 out of 288.

Minister of Health, Treatment, and Medical Education Seyed Hassan Qazizadeh Hashemi ranked second by wining 253 votes.

Minister of Intelligence Seyed Mahmoud Alawi also garnered 252 votes and Interior Minister Abdolreza Rahmaini Fazli won 250 votes.

President Rouhani had submitted the list of his ministers to the parliament on August 8, four days after his swearing-in ceremony.

The president took the oath of office on August 5.