TEHRAN (Press Shia Agency) – The Iranian Parliament convened on Saturday to discuss the credentials and backgrounds of the men that President Hassan Rouhani has nominated for four major economic ministries whose heads have resigned or been impeached by the lawmakers in recent weeks.

The parliamentary debates began with a speech by Rouhani, who has taken the podium to present his proposed ministerial picks and defend their backgrounds.

Farhad Dejpasand has been nominated as the new minister of Economic Affairs and Finance. The former minister, Massoud Karbasian, was dismissed by the Parliament in late August.

Rouhani, who accepted Minister of Industry, Mine and Trade Mohammad Shariatmadari's resignation last week, has chosen him as the new minister of Cooperative, Labor and Welfare, whose previous chief Ali Rabiee received a vote of no confidence from the Parliament on August 8.

In his proposal, the president has named Mohammad Eslami as the new head of the Ministry of Roads and Urban Development. Abbas Akhoundi resigned from the ministry on October 20.

Also, Rouhani has nominated Reza Rahmani as the minister of Industry, Mine and Trade.

Following the presidential speech in the Parliament, the proponents and opponents will speak for or against the picks.

Thereafter, voting sessions for each of the picks will kick off.

If any of the proposed ministers fails to win a vote of confidence, Rouhani will have up to three months to name a replacement.